Icelandic Economic Council

Minutes of the 15th meeting held at Hotel Nordica, Thursday, December 15, 2021, from 10:00-11:00

Attendees

Icelandic Economic Council:

Katrín Jakobsdóttir, Prime Minister of Iceland

Bjarni Benediktsson, Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs

Sigurður Ingi Jóhannsson, Minister of Infrastructure

Ásgeir Jónsson, Governor of the Central Bank of Iceland

Aldís Hafsteinsdóttir, Chairman of the Association of Local Authorities in Iceland

Halldór Benjamin Þorbergsson, Director General of the Confederation of Icelandic Enterprise

Drífa Snædal, President of the Icelandic Confederation of Labour

Sonja Ýr Þorbergsdóttir, President of the Federation of Public Worker Unions

Friðrik Jónsson, President of the Association of Academics

Ragnar Þór Pétursson, President of the Icelandic Teachers' Union

Other attendees:

Bryndís Hlöðversdóttir, Henny Hinz and Héðinn Unnsteinsson (Prime Minister's Office)

Tómas Brynjólfsson (Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs)

Karl Björnsson and Sigurður Snævarr (Association of Local Authorities in Iceland)

Sigríður Ingibjörg Ingadóttir (Federation of Public Worker Unions)

Halla Gunnarsdóttir (Icelandic Confederation of Labour)

Vilhjálmur Hilmarsson (The Association of Academics)

Oddur Jakobson (The Icelandic Teachers' Union)

Hannes G Sigurðsson (Confederation of Icelandic Enterprise)

Agenda item 1

Prime Minister's introduction

Agenda item 2

Draft budgetary plan for 2022, financial policy and government treaty for the new government

Bjarni Benediktsson, Minister of Finance and Economy, presented slides.

Katrín Jakobsdóttir, Prime Minister and Sigurður Ingi Jóhannsson, Minister of Infrastructure, gave their responses

Discussion afterwards

Agenda item 3

Conversation between the government and the labour market parties in the run-up to the upcoming round of negotiations

Discussions

Agenda item 4

Just transition - involvement and role of the Icelandic Economic council

Discussions

Agenda item 5

Prime Minister's closing words